A Poem About Depression (or as it’s known in my every day musings Untitled 7)

Over the last 10years or so, I have been au courant about mental health and the stigma that surrounds admitting that one has a mental illness. Mostly because I have realized that a number of us suffer from mental health related issues/illnesses and are ashamed of admitting it. I have been learning about mindfulness and acknowledging different emotional cycles. I’m learning to be kinder and more patient with myself.

I admit that every so often, I have some very dark days. But I find it’s when I get most creative.

She’s been struggling
she’s hurting
has she earned the right to feel this way?
After all,
she hasn’t crawled on her belly
she hasn’t dined on sand and gravel
she hasn’t seen the darkest of nights
or felt the coldest of days
sadness and anger consume her
pain and bitterness define her
it’s robbing her of her kindness
it’s draining her sweetness
hopelessness and despair
every night as she lays her head
in the loneliness of her existence
in the emptiness of her womb
death whispers her name
it draws her in
tugs at her soul
tells her that she has nothing to lose
but tonight, she will close her eyes
and she’ll remember that tomorrow is a new day

9 thoughts on “A Poem About Depression (or as it’s known in my every day musings Untitled 7)

Leave a Reply

